Mac users: questions!

26 Feb

Help a sista out!

When you take snapshots in-world, what file format are they?

Do you keep them in that format or convert them to another format before uploading?

What program do you use to do this?

Do you know of any bulk image conversion/resizing programs?

The reason I ask is that I take very high resolution snapshots, and I take a lot of them. And of course, they’re .bmp and not .jpg. I even changed my system’s settings to see if that would change my capture format, but as we should all know by now, Second Life is not designed to work with one’s native system. My Mac settings hold no bearing on SL whatsoever.

I would go through each image one-by-one and resize/convert them all, but, not only is that beyond tedious and time-consuming, Photoshop just isn’t working for me since I switched from my Powerbook laptop (PPC) to my iMac (Intel). And when I upgrade to OS X 10.5 Leopard, Photoshop will officially be no more (cue deluge of tears!). I don’t have the hard copy of CS because I lost a lot of things during my move. So… I’m stuck.

So for now, until I get the moolah to buy CS3, what do you recommend for my problems?

6 Responses to “Mac users: questions!”

  1. Gogo February 26, 2008 at 4:05 am #

    Hi Thema! One word.. FLICKR! 🙂 You can upload in bmp format there without the hassle of conversion.

  2. Thema Felix February 26, 2008 at 9:19 am #

    hi Gogo!
    haha, what do you think I’ve been using for all my SL photos all this time? Flickr rocks!

    It’s not that I can’t use the .bmp format. It’s that the file size is so much larger than a .jpg so uploading my gargantuan files takes forever and often fails (stupid flickr uploader!). Thus why I’d like to do some conversion before thrusting these files upon the public 😉

  3. Ari Blackthorne February 26, 2008 at 2:08 pm #

    Check out http://versiontracker.com and search for “image convert” – there are some really good one. And many are freebies or low-cost shareware.

    For example – this is listed there and it’s FREE (It resizes AND converts):
    http://homepage.mac.com/nsekine/SYW/SYWSoft/softOSXE.html#ResizeIt

    Enjoy
    Ari Blackthorne

  4. kesseret steeplechas February 26, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    http://www.filedudes.com/MacImage_Resizer-download-17230.html
    free to try- batch image resizer/converter.
    Try it out. Also if you want to contact me inworld when I have more time I can research some other mac alternatives- I’m at work and limited time now.
    Also my husband has written a patch to allow a user to choose to save their snapshot format (either bmp, png, jpg) but for some reason it’s not been integrated…I’m sure there’s a good reason, but I’ve seen him use it and that would be a great for us when it gets implemented!!!!

  5. Gwyneth Llewelyn March 1, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    For quick & dirty work, I simply use Preview… but yes, sadly it doesn’t have a “batch version”.

    For batch jobs, I often use Graphic Converter. It’s small, super-fast, and very cheap. Alas, it’s not as good doing image conversion as Photoshop, which beats everything (in terms of quality) I’ve tried so far…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pages tagged "tedious" - February 26, 2008

    […] tagged tediousOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. Mac users: questions! saved by 3 others     panafigo bookmarked on 02/26/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

