My Second Wishlist

12 Jun

My Second Wishlist
I’ve been carrying the idea of this post around in my head for some time. I first got the idea from a style podcast. As far as I know none of these items were on it, but no matter how I searched for it, I couldn’t find the one I was looking for to share with you all. So much for giving credit, but at least my heart was in it! I plan on continuing this as more ideas come up, but this is a good start!

How about you reply with your wish list? Feel free to link back to this post (use this link, please) if you want to write it on your own blog.

Here are some of my wishes for Second LifeTMyoulegalisticmuppets.

  1. The ability to sort my inventory more effectively! I’d love to sort by permissions. I want to give things away, so seeing all my transferable items at once would be great! And it’d be wonderful to sort in the order an item was added to my inventory. Finding all the stuff I bought two days ago would be much easier.
  2. When attaching a HUD to a new point, I want it to still show up facing me, in my view, and able to be selected. When I attach some HUDs to new points, they’re not even on my screen or are twisted and I’m not sure how they should be turned.
  3. Landmarks:
    • When creating a new landmark, have an optional notification pop up indicating if you have a duplicate in your inventory. I’m not sure how this would really work in malls where each store doesn’t get its own name… but hey, it’s an idea. Who likes landmark clutter?
    • When using a landmark from a SLURLTMblahblah (e.g. a link on a blog), the landmark should not disappear until the teleport is completed or the user closes it. Often, my TPs fail, and then I’ve lost the landmark because the window closed before I made it to my destination.
    • Also, when viewing an ‘About this landmark’ window (from a LM not in your inventory), show a button for ‘Add to inventory’ beside the ‘Teleport’ and ‘Show on Map’ buttons. I don’t want to have to visit a LM in order to make a LM to that location.
  4. When you ‘Replace Outfit’ I wish it wouldn’t replace the HUD attachments
  5. Get rid of the ‘Release Keys’ button!!!!!!11one
  6. When buying animations (especially for AOs), it would be good if the creator let you know at what priority the animations are set. Or, if there could be a way to find this out in the properties window, that would be even easier. So far, I haven’t learned a way to figure this out. The benefit would be for people to choose low-priority animations when using accessories like an umbrella or purse that require their own special body positions.
  7. After unpacking a box, move the box into the folder just created in inventory. I hate the objects folder being so bloated. I can’t tell what I’ve unpacked and what I haven’t. What about another icon for boxes never unpacked?
  8. I want to be able to copy a list of what I’m wearing or a list of any number of items from my inventory so it’s easy to paste names into notecards (e.g placing heaps of poses into an AO or pose stand) and a list of what I’m wearing into a blog post.
9 Responses to “My Second Wishlist”

  1. Tarissa Tripsa June 13, 2008 at 12:53 am #

    You have some great ideas there! Most of them I was wondering about myself. Well, not clearly in my head, but upon reading they made a lot of sense to me! Except No.4…I like to save different AOs with my outfits. You could do first “add to outfit” and then “take off items” of the old stuff, if it’s in one folder and if you have all day! πŸ˜‰

  2. Thema Felix June 13, 2008 at 6:48 am #

    Since I use a Huddles HUD with all my AOs built in, I never ever take it off. I also have MystiTool on permanently. I also don’t organize my clothing by outfit (I do it by designer/type), so when I accidentally “Replace Outfit”, everything’s kinda screwed up *chuckle*. So maybe there isn’t a perfect option… but it’s too easy to mess that one up!

  3. ashlenh June 13, 2008 at 8:08 am #

    Great ideas πŸ™‚

    1. To sort by permission, you can use the Inventory Search Field. Type ‘(No Copy)’ to find all the items that you can Transfer. I also use this method to find what I am wearing, by typing ‘(worn’. Don’t close the parenthesis because your hair will say something like (worn on skull). The (worn method works pretty good, except for some of the designers who have added those words into the name of their clothing.

    5. What the heck is the release button really there for? I haven’t ever used it intentionally!

    I haven’t posted a Wish List, but I did recently post an Open Letter in my blog to designers, asking them to include the ad texture in the contents of the items purchased. Maybe I’ll work on a full Wish List like you have here πŸ™‚

  4. Thema Felix June 13, 2008 at 8:13 am #

    ah, the “no copy” thing is a great tip!
    I do the “worn” filter which is helpful, but if that could be combined with a mass copy function (#8 ) that would just make me squee-squee-squee all the way home πŸ˜‰

  5. Ana Lutetia June 16, 2008 at 3:10 pm #

    Great post! I totally agree with you.

    The upload menu for animations has lots of options. You can add facial animations to your poses but they don’t show up in SL for ages. From now on, I promise to refer in the description the priority of my poses. πŸ™‚
    For my blog posts I type WORN in the inventory and copy the names in the things or the folder.

  6. Thema Felix June 16, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    Ana, thank you for responding (and acting on my wish!) I appreciate that very much πŸ™‚

  7. Samara Greggan June 17, 2008 at 9:10 am #

    Great post, Thema! I completely agree with you on everything ESPECIALLY the release key! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve accidentally hit that stupid button. lol

    btw, thank you for the info on glamworld! I’m never up to date on that kind of stuff. I need to start reading more blogs. lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. wish list | Ana Lutetia - July 22, 2008

    […] Thema Felix wish list […]

  2. wish list . take 2 - Ana Lutetia - January 8, 2009

    […] wish lists: Thema Felix :: wish list Efemera Bisiani :: Wishlist: Stop the […]

Leave a Reply

