Keep it Simple!

19 Jun

I think I should start a Second Life flickr group that’s called, “I don’t rely on Photoshop to make things look good,” or “Anti-overdoers,” or maybe, “For the sake of all that is holy, stop the heavy-handed after effects! You’re making me nauseous!”

one serious hammock

Maybe it’s just me, but art from Second Life doesn’t need to look like every filter took turns sneezing on your snapshot. Sometimes those filters and adjustments are productive (who doesn’t mind a bit of smoothing and softening?), but oftentimes it’s overcompensating for a boring composition or covering the natural grace of an image.

I wonder if it bothers me partially because I don’t have stellar Photoshop skills. I’m sure my shots could be more powerful if I stretched myself further. But one aspect I enjoy most about Second Life is that someone can create a scene or perspective that evokes emotion without any tool except the viewer.

I’m not an artist, nor do I claim to be a “photographer”, but I do enjoy what I take out of the virtual world. I see a lot of amazing, creative expression in this game, and I have much to learn and appreciate.

So, vent over. Back to learning how to make my snapshots prettier 🙂

2 Responses to “Keep it Simple!”

  1. Samara Greggan June 19, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    I am completely guilty of filter mania. lol

  2. Asrael Hax June 20, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    theres so much more photoshop can do to enhance your photos. using an artistic filter is just the easiest way and fastest way to mod your pic, but mostly it just looks noobish

Leave a Reply

