Tall, Dark, and Predictable

24 Jun

Tell me if you know this man:

Black hair, probably a bit shaggy and down around the eyes
Tan skin, most likely from Abyss
Narrow eyes
Black tattoo
Huge shoulders that could dam a river
Hairless, except for the optional stubble or goatee
Muscular, very tall
Trendy or Neko clothing/accessories

Do you know him? I bet you do. We all do. He is the quintessential SL “everyman”—the prototype for virtual hotness. And, to be honest, I do find guys like this attractive. Very attractive. That’s the point, I’m sure… to make us ladies squirm and drool. But you know what I also find attractive? Being able to tell them apart! finding some individuality, personality, and style!

Who is this man? Here’s one. Oh wait, here. And another, and anothero hai!

Hotties, all.
But what happened to the blond boys? Nerdy boys? Husky boys? Lanky boys? Short boys? Gimme some flavour, boys! Design some new styles! Stretch the limits. And for god’s sake, be proportional! Take the sock out of your pants, yank off your shoulder pads, and show me who you are beyond the typical sex appeal. That would be sexy.

15 Responses to “Tall, Dark, and Predictable”

  1. Samara Greggan June 24, 2008 at 8:36 pm #

    haha! I so love this post! Have you ever noticed that they all have that gorilla walk AO? Errr!

    I guess that’s why I married my surfer boy. πŸ˜€
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/samaragreggan/2597659169/

  2. Negko deVinna June 25, 2008 at 1:08 am #

    One day I met a girl who became close to me.
    She was tall, a head above me (without heels). I had the more or less same shape I had IRL.
    Note 1: She kindly asked me to ‘grow up’ physically (just to avoid the ‘head in the breast’ situation each time we hugged).
    As I try to be a gentleman (ahem), I accepted and went to my Frankenstein lab room to play with my shape sliders.
    I became tall, trying to keep some harmony and consistency with my previous appearance.
    Later, I met other people, smaller people. As I wanted to hug this new friend who could barely reach my chest, I proposed to review my shape again and go back to something more RL standard’. Believe me or not: no one wanted me to go smaller, even if hugs result sometimes with hilarious situations (no, I will not send pics).
    Bottom line: not sure that there is something sexy beyond the ‘usual sexy’, especially when people have already seen you.

    Note 2: One thing that is really sad ISL is the standardization of the male faces. Okay guys, having a surfer shape with tan, muscles, is great. But damn, when you buy the usual ‘sexy guy’ shape at Naughty or Abyss, play a bit with the sliders on your face. Otherwise, we will soon have the new recruits for the ‘clone wars’.

  3. Negko deVinna June 25, 2008 at 1:09 am #

    My, now I realize my comment is almost as long as the post.

  4. Negko deVinna June 25, 2008 at 1:10 am #

    @ Samara: I wish we had as many walk choices as females… 😦

  5. Thema Felix June 25, 2008 at 6:29 am #

    @ Samara
    I’ve seen some silly walks out there, but I wonder if all the AO makers just use the generic male equivalent of the “sexywalk” that we ladies get. Hmm, never really noticed that before!

    @Negko
    I believe there is sexy beyond the clone. But I think it takes gently and subtly adjusting your shape to be proportional. Even if you stay tall in order to fit into some animations (but goodness gracious, I get swallowed up by some men!) it’d be better not to have shelf shoulders and a balloon chest with no ass.

    Have you ever known a male avatar to go full-time Mediterranean? Indian? Asian? Aboriginal? Yeah… only a few select skin designers even try to create features that reflect the beauty of different cultures. But that doesn’t mean people buy them.

    SL humans are homogeneous. I know I’m a part of that system, too, but I hope the culture changes for all of us.

  6. Jerome June 25, 2008 at 8:24 am #

    Not wishing to be arrogant….But i believe i already broke the male “Calvin Klein” mould πŸ™‚

  7. Thema Felix June 25, 2008 at 8:27 am #

    Jer!! *hugs*
    Yeah, you definitely don’t fit in that box πŸ˜‰ Is there a separate expectation for goths, do you think?

  8. Jerome June 25, 2008 at 8:33 am #

    I believe there is if you want to realisticaly simulate a goth. Tanned + Muscular + Goth stylings = your doing it wrong….:D

  9. Negko deVinna June 26, 2008 at 1:41 am #

    I totally agree with having more choices in skins, on an ethnical point of view, and on an age point of view. I tried to make a skin with white/gray hairs, scars and tattoos on the face, asymmetric details. You’re right, this makes the charm of an avatar and gives some visual personality. but I am pretty convinced males are unconsciously more attractive when taller (and stronger). This might be why, when this goes to extreme slider settings, males look like shelves, or gorean cupboards, your choice.
    As for the butt, well, mine is pretty prominent when I am naked. Still, I have to review and adjust it when I put clothes on, and adjust again the cursors depending on the clothes. Switching from one shape to another gives really nice butt animations πŸ™‚
    Keep your good job with photographs, you do some really nice work!

  10. Samara Greggan June 26, 2008 at 6:47 am #

    Thema – I think you’re right but I’m talking about the same AO.

    I see the “clones” wearing the same AO (I think it’s from Form). I know for a fact there are other walks out there that are much better. Torrid, Sine wave, ect.

    Negko, I agree 100%. Males need more choices!

  11. Asrael Hax June 26, 2008 at 8:36 pm #

    i feel so guilty now, well at least i dont have the form walk πŸ˜€

  12. Thema Felix June 26, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    @Negko
    Yes, I happen to find great enjoyment in the “butt balloon” animation when switching back from my dress shape! πŸ˜€

    @Samara
    I’ve never even been to Form. Shows how well I’d do if I had a male alt!

    @Asrael
    Oh yes, of course my whole goal with this post was to make awesome guys like you feel like lemmings πŸ˜‰ lol!

  13. Negko deVinna June 27, 2008 at 12:48 am #

    I like big butts and I can not lie
    You other brothers can’t deny
    That when a girl walks in with an itty bitty waist
    And a round thing in your face
    You get sprung, wanna pull out your tough
    ‘Cause you notice that butt was stuffed
    Deep in the jeans she’s wearing
    I’m hooked and I can’t stop staring
    Oh baby, I wanna get with you
    And take your picture
    My homeboys tried to warn me
    But that butt you got makes me so horny…

    ^^

  14. Negko deVinna June 27, 2008 at 12:49 am #

    Full credits of the post above to Sir Mix-a-Lot for the song called ”Baby Got Back” .

  15. Candy Lemmon July 6, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    I am proud to have a red-headed, non-tribal-tattoo-wearing, bow-tied boyfriend.

    I don’t think I’d have much of a blog without him – there are plenty of other sexy, stylish ladies (hello Thema!), but boy-bloggers with style are a serious minority. Still, that’s no excuse to be sheep!

Leave a Reply

