Eye contact please!

22 Jul

I thought of another wish for SL! I’m certain all the photographers out there will “amen” to this one!

I wish we had an option to turn on “eye-tracking” where our avatar’s eyes would track with our cameras. There’s nothing so electric in a portrait than eye contact, and getting it to click just right is an enormous pain. Perhaps others know tricks I do not, but using the equipment and techniques I do now, lining up my eyes is completely hit-and-miss! Even if I alt+click myself (a handy trick to try) or move my mouse (another method, but even less reliable), my peepers don’t often want to behave.

Does anyone else have a rant like this to share? A solution to share?

7 Responses to “Eye contact please!”

  1. Belochka July 22, 2008 at 10:36 am #

    Agree entirely (hoping that someone will come along and handout the magic solution). I’m often hovering on the snapshot to disc keys guessing if I’ve timed it right. I’ve gone crossed-eyed in rl in that time.

  2. Cerrie Janus July 22, 2008 at 11:00 am #

    Thema you read my mind. I did see a post the other day about a lighting system that had this option. So there has to be an answer out there. Now, if I could recall where the blog was with the lighting system I would be a step closer…

  3. Cerrie Janus July 22, 2008 at 11:04 am #

    Well I guess it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be to find it… http://serenitymercier.wordpress.com/2008/07/17/on-location-fashion-photography/

  4. AnaLu July 22, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    Agree! I stay very still waiting for the right eye movement…

  5. Asrael Hax July 24, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    the easyiest way is to place an invisible prim where you would like your virtual cam to be and focus your cam on it

  6. kesseret July 25, 2008 at 9:35 am #

    Thelma,

    I’ll ask my husband about this over dinner. It’s a big pet peeve of mine as well. So much that I sometimes have one client modeling and another taking the pictures.

  7. olivia connaught July 27, 2008 at 5:31 pm #

    Even if I alt+click myself (a handy trick to try)

    man this never works for me. i just do like ana lu up there, waiting patiently til i get what i want.

Leave a Reply

