The Bare Necessities

28 Oct

The Bare Necessities

We are a bunch of needy avatars. I know I fit right into this claim, and I’m dragging all of you with me. Why? Because if certain things we own were sucked into the black hole of inventory loss, we might actually cry. We would not hesitate to replace them or piss-and-moan to everyone we know about how terrible things have gotten because that item is now gone. Our SLives would not be complete without it!

What are these objects? Let me give you my list, off the top of my head:

MystiTool by Mystical Cookie (slurl) [ MystiTool has almost everything you’d ever need built in: scanners, flight assist, offensive/land/emotive tools, and so much more]
HUDDLES by Keiki Lemiux (slurl, blog) [This stores all my AOs and dances in sets I can easily select. So much better than anything else I’ve seen like it]
My AOs (stored inside my HUDDLES, of course)
Photography pose HUDs [Tillie’s pose stand is awesome, for example]

My useful objects are normally HUDs. Can you think of valuable tools that are not HUD-driven? What other amazing gadgets out there should I have that I don’t have already? I’m quite the gadget freak in real life, so prepare for drooling of geeky, energetic outbursts.

What—if you lost it—would make you want to cry?

8 Responses to “The Bare Necessities”

  1. Laura18 Streeter October 28, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    tools – no. I would replace them.
    Some things i can’t find, or were given me – yes
    my favorite outfits & shoes
    my photo studio

  2. Lourdes Denimore October 28, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    Photostudio
    Mystitools
    Huddles

    I don’t use that many gadgets.

  3. Violet Morellet October 28, 2008 at 2:54 pm #

    I’ve been through two huge inventory losses, my inventory has always been well organized, and once I lost my entire folder of lingerie, which had to be replaced. I don’t think I’d get that that upset over my gadgets, because I could replace them pretty easily, but yeah, the rare items, the things that just cannot be replaced because they were limited edition or something. My own work. Orrr, something hugely expensive, like my friend who lost her L$10,000 sex bed 😮 Yeah, that’d make me cry. </3

  4. Antimony Battery October 28, 2008 at 5:41 pm #

    Skins! Now, I know at least most of them are replaceable, but skins, for me, are a hard commitment to make. When I finally find a line I like, I tend to buy a lot of them. With that in mind, I have been known to make copies of my shape compulsively. It’s almost exactly the same shape I made when I was born in SL with only a few minor tweaks here and there to accommodate the lip or eye design of certain skins. But if I somehow managed to lose my shape for good? *shudder* That’d be baaaad.

  5. thaumata strangelove October 29, 2008 at 12:35 am #

    I loved my huddles more than anything, and spent three years tossing everything I owned into it. Huggers, dances, poses, AOs, LMs.. I used it for everything. But there is a bug (or was, anyway, not sure what the status is) in SL where sometimes, replacing a HUD with something else would eat the original HUD.

    And that’s exactly what happened to mine, taking with it everything even remotely animation-related I’ve ever bought. Not shockingly, LL support was not helpful in looking for it.

    Anyway, I don’t say it to scare you, but do make sure you keep backup copies of anything you can, and maybe consider not keeping all your eggs in one virtual basket. It’s amazing how much you take that stuff for granted, but when you log in one day and have to walk like a newbie and don’t own a single pose, it’s very uninspiring.

  6. belochkashostakovich October 30, 2008 at 12:14 am #

    Definitely would have to be the photostudio I use, I’d be utterly sunk without it. It did develop a bug one day and I wrestled with it, then had to delete it and start again. Which was an education in how long it would take if it went for good and it had to be started from scratch.

  7. Diva Regina November 3, 2008 at 6:00 pm #

    Great lists. So, since so many people mention their photostudio, what makes your studio so valuable to you? Where did you get it? Is it just because it’s yours and you picked the poses, or are there quality differences?

    The Curious One

  8. belochkashostakovich November 11, 2008 at 1:08 am #

    To drop in and answer Diva’s question. 🙂 I can’t say for other people’s photostudios or styles, but certainly if I’m blogging the Photosphere (it was from Silent before the remodel) is totally necessary. It’s the control over the lighting, camera angles and the poses for me. As I don’t have all my poses loaded to a HUD and going out to sims means you can’t always rez lights or the Environmental Editor presets don’t show either your av or the location to it’s best detail, it’s good to have the studio there.

    Plus it’s a comfort zone for me, you can work on clothes etc. without having people walk in on you, mostly. That has happened a couple of times LOL.

Leave a Reply

