Retreat

10 Nov

Row, Row, Row Your Boat

Where do you go to relax, meditate, daydream, and escape in SL? What types of locations calm you down and give you a sense of peace in this virtual game?

I’m a water girl; give me a babbling brook, thunderstorms with torrential rain, or the lapping of waves on a lake and I feel my entire body begin to melt into its own serene puddle. My weather system is one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. I can turn up the volume on my speakers, close my eyes, and hear the wet patter of rain as long as I want.

A stunning example of a sim for rain lovers like myself is the new dark and detailed CREAMSHOP mainstore. I could spend hours floating in the waist-deep water with the ducks as the rain floods down, splattering and flowing off of street lamps and overhangs. Check it out as soon as possible!

So what about you? What’s your element? What environment gives you a sense of calm? Is it a tropical island? Forest? Urban street? A club or social scene? Anything goes.

5 Responses to “Retreat”

  1. Paulina Oceanlane November 10, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    Definitely a water girl too! And thanks for the tip with the weather system, I’ve been looking for a good one for a while now.

  2. Thema Felix November 10, 2008 at 12:18 pm #

    Oh it’s fantastic! I hope you enjoy it!

  3. Shir Dryke November 10, 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    I rarely have time to escape anywhere in SL but when I do I usually find myself from Artilleri playground or Miriel’s forest. I have a thing with playgrounds and Miriel has managed to build a forest that is so like home for me. The woods here actually look like that. Eh I miss the smell of pinetrees.

  4. Cajsa Lilliehook November 10, 2008 at 2:05 pm #

    Retreats? 1) My home, 2) used to be the dump (go figure) and 3) sailing in my 1L sailboat from Enkythings on the Linden Ocean.

  5. belochkashostakovich November 11, 2008 at 1:14 am #

    I would say anywhere with snow but there’s not many places (until the real pre-Christmas rush I guess) that have snow everywhere. Other than that the forest skybox that is from iTutu, it’s the ultimate little enchanted wood for calm.

Leave a Reply

