Thema Then & Now

8 Jan

I’m starting to creak. I’m over 3 years old and coming up on my blog’s 2-year anniversary this month. Sophia Harlow‘s “Then & Now” blogger challenge took my racing down memory lane and provided a perfect excuse to see how far I’ve come as a vain fashionista.

So what’s changed since my rezday in November, 2006? A whole hell of a lot, make no mistake! My first “outfit” was a Library avatar with modified prim-less clothing layers. I was hideous my first week in–trying to fit into the prim and proper society of Caledon where I first became an avatar.

The first big money item I bought was a L$320 dress from Silver Rose Designs. I just found it on XStreetSL for the same price! Check out my first three dresses ever!

Click, flash!

I had never seen a Photosphere until that day when I snapped my first vanity-gushing picture. I thought I was so damn witty choosing the skulls background for the photo while wearing a Pirate tattoo. Just an hour before I had found the ETD freebie hair and purchased my very first Last Call outfit (one of the sexier looks of the collection, if I do say so myself). Look at the space between my breasts. You could sail a small ship straight down my cleavage!

skulldim640x480

2007

A clothes horse is born

My first “style” in SL was Rockabilly, thanks to Antonia Marat of Artilleri who opened my eyes to what fun clothes and tattoos could be. After discovering other shops like Tres Blah, Shiny Things, Kin, and Cubic Effect, it was all downhill from there. I went off my cracker for SL fashion and never looked back!

Within a short while I was photoshopping some images (here’s the first) and creating a blog in February 2008 (check out my first fashion post!). I hit my stride when I joined the shoppingcartdisco.com writing staff and tried to spice up my wardrobe with..well… everything I could spend my lindens on. Even though I didn’t gel with the whole SCD dramafest and kinda sucked at writing regularly, it helped me grow at blogging.

Fashion by Nature

2008

Is there treatment for this addiction?

Three years later, what can I say? I’m one of the freaks who can’t stop spending her money in a virtual world where you buy air, chat with strangers for hours on end, and take snapshots of pixels. I’ve taken multiple breaks from this world, but I always come back for more. Nobody understands it but us!

Street

2010

Feel free to laugh at my archive (in the sidebar) and my old posts over at SCD as well.It’s been a lot of fun so far, folks. Thanks for reading!

3 Responses to “Thema Then & Now”

  1. isle January 8, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    This was a fantastic post, and I really smiled when I read the “addiction” part. How true. I am going to head to SCD and read your old posts. I blogged there for a while myself until my crappy bandwidth made me take a break for my own sanity. (You may want to go see mine heh)

    Fun post, thanks for the grins!

  2. Sophia Harlow January 10, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    I loved loved loved reading this!

    Thank you for taking part!

    xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cool Eyebrow Tattooing images | Eye Makeup Tutorials - March 1, 2014

    […] Street Image by THEMA.FELIX Took these photos while writing "Thema Then & Now" […]

Leave a Reply

