Dressing Rooms and Photography Sets

12 Feb

I greatly prefer in-world photography to photosphere and green screen style shots. I’ve done all of it on this blog, and I’ve concluded that it’s heaps more fun to have a 3D background with which to interact. It gets me out and about in Second Life and lets me focus more on the shot composition and outfit than my skills in Photoshop.

It’s not easy; finding ideal angles and environments and matching appropriate poses takes me so long that I wonder at how anyone else does fashion blogging more often than a few times a week. I am no mistress of the in-world snapshot, but at my skill level, I am a perfectionist.The sad part is: I’m also lazy as hell.

One of the cheats I like to use to speed up my photo sessions and take the guess-work out of finding attractive backgrounds is the photoble (which, so far as I can tell, is a made up word for Second Life). A photoble is a set–often a compact room or diorama constructed in such a way as to seem like an actual place. The most valuable photobles come with built-in poses, sculpted furnishings or props, and baked or shaded textures. All it really takes to make a successful photoble or set are a few walls and nice textures (take my earlier post for a good example). I’ve even made my own.

Today’s shoot took place in a Mudhoney photoble that looks like a luxurious dressing room. It comes with a number of Glitterati singles and couples poses built-in. I used one of them for my first shot perched atop of the pouf:

Dressing Room

The best props and sets will allow you to use your own poses and customizations to make it your own. We all get sick of seeing the same items and shots on the fashion feeds; this is another way to keep the reader from assuming they’ve seen it all before (even if they have). For the rest of the shots I experimented with, I used poses by On the Cover.

Dressing Room

Now that I think of it, I wish I had begged designers all over the grid to send me review copies of their own backdrops and sets. Not only would I take selfish advantage of their generosity (look who’s being honest!), but I’d love to take more of my blog pics in sets like this! They’re convenient and attractive while still giving the realism of being in a physical setting (when I don’t blur the hell out of them like I have here, right?).

All Dressed Up:

Skin: Tres blah– Hiccup Light Skin – Swoon
Hair: Mayamaya Creations- hair bomber wild1 female fl_typeA(flexi) [[store temporarily closed]]
Eyes: Umedama Holic: KOi – Pink
Eyelashes: Redgrave -20- DiamondDust
Jeans: Maitreya -Skinny Jeans – #04
Shoes: Maitreya -Mishima Dawn – Leather Black
Vest: Armidi Limited – Itimo Leather Vest – Charcoal
Belt: COCO -WideBelt_Black(pelvis)
Tattoo: AITUI – Trip Out – Worn
Gloves: Emery – Gloves #Black
Earrings: Shade Throne – the Chrysler earrings – gold
Ring: Gisele – margot ring
Shirt: Kookie – Vint Vest dark brown
Poses: Mudhoney/Glitterati photoble & On the Cover ((store closed, temporarily available at the Valentines Bazaar))

2 Responses to “Dressing Rooms and Photography Sets”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cool Fashion Blog images | $@£€ UPON - January 30, 2012

    […] Room Image by THEMA.FELIX Check out the blog with outfit details here! I think it’s prettiest when viewed […]

  2. spotlight | fashion inspiration and fashion social community from Fashionising.com - April 26, 2012

    […] Room Check out the weblog with outfit regioniculars here! I think it is prettiest when viewed […]

Leave a Reply

