The Great Wall of Babbage

29 Apr

“Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall!”
-Former United States President Ronald Reagan

“All in all it’s just another brick in the wall.”
-Pink Floyd

babbagewall-2

There are many quotes that have to do with walls, but none quite fit what I’m trying to express about this particular one. What strikes me about this amazing construction in Babbage is just how intricate it is while still being enormous. The tell-tale signs of its creator, Jenne Dibou, are everywhere: delicious details, sensational sculpties, and a vision for the best of Steampunk.

When I visited, I was all dolled up, having just been out dancing. But that striking juxtaposition aside, I do feel as if I must look beautiful just to be next to this gorgeous creation.

babbagewall-1

These are the stats from JD’s profile:

256m long, 15m wide, 30m high 6 towers, inner tunnel and a huge main gate included, all this only 423 prims!

Let me scoop up my jaw from the cobblestone walkway as I imagine how great that accomplishment is. Well done, JD!

Check out more pictures here. Teleport from here.

One Response to “The Great Wall of Babbage”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Steampunk Travelogue Taj - SteamPunkTribune - June 4, 2022

    […] please turn to her blog pagehttp://jdmtf.blogspot.com/and a bit more on the New Babbage wall, on…https://virtualversion.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/the-great-wall-of-babbage/“Quiet you! I haven’t gained a single pound, so quit your […]

Leave a comment